Tags

, , , , , ,

SAM_0007“Sadness is chosen. Happiness is desired. Love is inevitable.”~ Gabriel García Márquez

Ah Valentine’s Day. Some love it, some dread it. I’m just happy with a day devoted to pink and rose, sugar and petals.2012-02-14-15.10.37I finally put together a collage of pink Paris postcards (marshmallow, menu, chair, heart and vespa cards by Little Brown Pen).  And used plenty of Martha Stewart craft punches for my cards and some confetti.  I’ve admitted to having a soft spot for carnations and this little ball took just a few minutes to assemble.vdaycollage1
I’ve amassed lots of sprinkles and was excited to use my new cookie cutter texture set.SAM_0021And my new, pink rolling pin: an impulse purchase at New York Cake Supply.vdaycollage2
Gluten free sugar cookies were easy: using the same Joanne Chang recipe as for my snowflake cookies, replacing the wheat flour with Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Flour and just a teeny bit of xanthan gum.  Having made a sad, flat batch of chocolate chip cookies without xanthan gum, I finally broke down and bought the small $14.00 bag and it made a big difference: these rose just fine.  vdaycollage3At the office we were assembling a sugary pink candy bar in glass jars. In the afternoon I got a surprise package from Butterfly Bakeshop — the fudgeiest brownies ever!vdaycollage4And another suprise: arranging 4 dozen roses into one bouquetvdaycollage6
It took a while to clean them up: dethorn, deleaf, clear the outer petals. Got pricked with thorns a few times (but only bled a little).  Hey, “every rose has its thorn”.vdaycollage5Hope everyone had a lovely day.2012-02-14-16.50.52