Tags

, , , ,

SAM_0086Happy St. Patrick’s Day weekend!  How did I celebrate?  A Korean movie yesterday and an Italian dessert today.  What can I say, I have a multi-cultural family…SAM_0033The best part for me?  This tiramisu is totally gluten free thanks to Schär ladyfingers.  I’m also grateful for the NESCAFÉ Dolce Gusto a friend kindly gave me that brews coffee in seconds, and that there’s a way to substitute for buttermilk when you can’t find it in (insert name of otherwise nice, high-end grocery store here): add 1 Tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice for every 1 cup of milk and in just 5 minutes you have curdling.tiramisu-collage1I seem to like layered dishes and this is another easy one.tiramisu-collage2There were some Irish touches to the day after all: gluten free Irish soda bread from a recipe by Gluten-Free Girl.bread-collage1I substituted Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour with just a teeny bit of xanthan gum measured by weight as Shauna recommends, but next time would spring for the almond, sorghum, sweet rice, teff and potato flours, which she finds have a better flavor and texture.  All in all though, not bad for a first try.SAM_0063My Dad likes light beer and I had to dye it green, and my Mom made the corned beef, cabbage and boiled potatoes and carrots.bread-collage2Next up?  A homemade Shamrock Shake, with a little Bailey’s Irish Cream blended in and a paper straw topper, just for fun.SAM_0004And Humphrey of course gained a few more fans.SAM_0078