Tags

, , , ,

SAM_0031Following a very busy work week, there was a lot to do this weekend.  On Sunday, Suzanne and I took our 2nd letterpress class in Brooklyn at The Arm Letterpress.craft-collage-4What a beautiful, sunny studio space.SAM_0024We got to use the large Vandercook presscraft-collage-5using a plastic-backed photopolymer digital plate made by Boxcar Press.  We even did 2-color printing with blue, then green ink.craft-collageAnd in just a few minutes we had this beautiful piece.SAM_0029Then we went ahead and set our own phrases, so Suzanne and I of course chose pinky-purple-y ink.craft-collage-2We also had a demo on the C&P Pilot Press, a smaller model.craft-collage-3And by the end of the day we had our own projects completed: the “Jen Kim Made” piece was printed with wood type and the “you’re pretty great…” piece with metal.SAM_0066I trimmed the card down and used Martha Stewart craft punches to dress it up a bit.SAM_0070And was feeling so inspired that I took a trip to Paper Presentation for more supplies — more on this soon!SAM_0077And just to backtrack a bit, on Saturday, Sevrin and I went to the BUST Magazine Spring Craftacular and Food Fair and I bought a Loomi light (can’t wait to put it together!), Artisan soy candles from Gritty City Phila in Wedding Day and Summer Cotton, prints from the ink+Sword pet care PSA series and met Bree from As a Paper Doll.  I asked her if she had any Asian girls and she promised to make one for me if I picked a model.  I’m e-mailing her right now, can’t wait to see what she comes up with soon!SAM_0002