Tags

, , , ,

It seems almost cruel to tempt you with chilled cocktails on this sweltering day in NYC.  But recently I was very pleased to meet and work on an event with Alchemy Consulting and Diageo Beverage Company.alchemy2When invited on a Monday afternoon to a tasting of cocktails all made with Bulleit Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (the only distillery open during Prohibition), what does one say?  Yes, please…alchemy3I was so impressed with the team behind the cocktail program at The Violet Hour in Chicago, a 2012 James Beard Award Nominee.alchemy5Not only were the cocktails made with fresh, artisanal ingredients (grenadine isn’t just what’s sold in the red bottle), they were totally delicious (the only Old Fashioned I’ve ever liked) and I loved the stories and fun facts about the history and tradition of spirits (and finding out that Bailey’s Irish Cream is as a world leading liqueur, my Dad is very happy about that).alchemy4Plus, putting together an event for 150 guests was a breeze with these guys.  I’m very much looking forward to the upcoming opening of their next bar venture: Pouring Ribbons in the East Village — lots more cheers to come…alchemy6