Tags

, , , , , , ,

cupcake-4Since the October 29th hurricane, followed by daylight savings time on November 4th, election day November 6th, a nor’easter on November 7th, another possibly coming through NYC next week, and temperatures back up in the 60’s last weekend I’m feeling a little disoriented.  And then there’s trying to stay gluten-free.  A friend warned that she found gluten in her vitamin, another noticed wheat in her shampoo. Apparently barley and farro contain gluten when I thought they were safe friends. You never can be too careful.  Especially when there are so many beautiful tempting cupcake shops nearby.  Luckily I found some lovely sweetness in Gluten-Free Cupcakes by Elana Amsterdam from Elana’s Pantry.cupcake-6I had the privilege of meeting Elana’s mother, the artist Marylyn Dintenfass, at her airy studio in Chelsea and when we started talking about food she so kindly gave me a copy of the book.  I was happy to add to my now large assortment of gluten-free flours with some Bob’s Red Mill almond and coconut flours and already had some agave I hadn’t cracked open yet.cupcake-7I got the chance to use some inspirational Paula Deen cupcake liners, from Michael’s at a great price.cupcake-2Flipping through the yummy recipes I was in the mood for something bright and lemony, and started drooling over the Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes.  I’d always associated citrus with summertime and lemonade not realizing how popular it is in the colder months.cupcakeAnd blueberries may be for summer, but the recipe called for frozen and I found those in the market just fine.cupcake-1A little lemon cream cheese frosting and they were all set, except…cupcake-3I wanted some cheerful sprinkles before taking them to my friends.  When I got to New York Cake Supply at 9:45 a.m. it was just 15 minutes until they opened so I waited and then sprinkled away.  And my friends didn’t miss the gluten at all. Looking forward to trying more recipes from the book soon!cupcake-5I also can’t wait to see Marylyn’s newest exhibition: Drop Dead Gorgeous, paintings of flowers that are beautiful, but deadly, with an opening reception at the Driscoll Babcock Gallery tomorrow, Saturday, November 17th.  And if you go to the headings at the top of the page you’ll see that I seem to like flowers.  About as much as I like cupcakes, maybe more.