Tags

, , , , , ,

thanksgivingI hope everyone had a wonderful day yesterday, whether you celebrated a holiday or not.  For Thanksgiving this year I went for gold: just some copper-y paint sprayed on a few pumpkins and eucalyptus leaves mixed with satsuma mandarins and lady applesthanksgiving-2then hollowing out the pumpkins to make vases for the red berries and alstroemeria thanksgiving-3and added to the tables.thanksgiving-4Always love the little touches at the homes of families and friends: creamers in the shapes of elephants and kittens, handed down silver pieces and hand sewn hemstitch linen napkins form a grandmother, pretty pillows and happy, fall animals.thanksgiving-5And although I can barely cook I like watching people make things together: Sukey made butternut squash purée with pancetta.thanksgiving-10Eliot bravely carved the turkey.thanksgiving-8And I actually made my first stuffing: gluten-free from a recipe on Serious Eatsthanksgiving-6and brussels sprouts with bacon vinaigrette.thanksgiving-1Sukey finished up the beautiful meringue shell that Lexi baked to make a pavlova with whipped cream and fruits.thanksgiving-9My dessert you ask?  Not the best recipe, but I was just about too full to hold another bite anyway.  Until the next day.thanksgiving-7