Jen-BabyIt’s been grey in NYC for days like even the sky is in mourning over the recent tragic events in Connecticut and China.  When I heard the news I left where I was and cried in the street.  A friend said that when a partner dies the one left behind is a widow or widower, when a child loses a parent he or she is an orphan, but there is no word for a parent who loses a child.  Because it should never happen, it’s unthinkable beyond words.  We try to make sense of these things, but as another wise friend said “some things are better not understood”.

Today’s the day when 34 years ago my Korean foster mother of three months gave me up to a plane flying to JFK.  I arrived late in the night tired and sick where my new parents and grandparents picked me up and brought me home to a brand new life.  Nothing else has made me more grateful than that day, the chance to be here was random.  I have dear friends who were adopted to Sweden just at the toss of the dice.  And the world is supposed to end on Friday, so you just never know.  We have to remember those who we’ve left behind and who have left us all too soon.

“Some people come into our lives and quickly go.  Some stay for a while, leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never, ever the same.”
~ Adlai E. Stevenson II

As it was sung in the musical Rent “no day but today”.  As I was writing this the sun came out and the church bells down the street struck 11.  Wishing everyone peace today and always.