Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

shepherds-pieIt snowed prettily in NYC yesterday, big, dusty flakes coming down sporadically over the course of the day. But we were warm inside since the oven was on for about four hours to make this Martha Stewart Shepherd’s Pie with Root Vegetables. I think it took the longest of any recipe I’ve ever made so far so there was time to get started on some New Year’s decorations (free printable Sweet New Year by Eat, Drink Chic).shepherds-pie-prepI love pearl onions, parsnips and of course, cheese, and the orange rind gave it a really nice flavor.shepherds-pie-doneThen there were the penguins: like these party penguins I saw on Pinterest that I made for our Christmas Eve crudité tray.cruditeAnd Herbert the amigurumi penguin I crocheted for Christmas in 2009 joined some new needle-felted penguinspenguinsAnd of course you can always follow Humphrey’s example and a) hang out on the radiator, b) sleep in a tote bag, or c) & d) just cuddle up.humphrey-staying-warm