Tags

, , , , , , , ,

thai-curry-classWhile this previous post was about sweet coconut, this one is about savory: Thai curries with coconut milk! I took a class at Brooklyn Brainery with Jonathan Soma and couldn’t believe it was possible to make this from scratch.thai-ingredientsRoasting spices and grinding everything into a pulp was fragrant and cathartic. And in an hour or so we had the beautiful massaman curry above with beef, potato and onion, and also a green curry paste to take home. I definitely wanted to make more on my own so I went on a Chinatown shopping trip. First: Asia Market Corp at 71 Mulberry Street.asia-market-corpI’ve been in many Asian market but there were aisles of ingredients I’ve never used before.asia-market-corp-2Then Bangkok Center Grocery at 104 Mosco Street, which Soma said had the nicest shop owners and he was definitely right.bangkok-thai-groceryThe helpful man at the register told me I could freeze my galangal, kaffir lime and lime leaves and helped me choose a mortar and pestle:thai-grocery-casean exciting (and heavy!) purchase. I’ve never cooked with these two kinds of Asian eggplants before and I’m now in love with Thai basil.thai-ingredients-at-homeThe green curry was delicious too. Here’s to more Thai cooking at my place.thai-curry-complete